The growing influence of the SCO during Uzbekistan’s chairmanship

16.08.2022, 17:57

The growing influence of the SCO during Uzbekistan’s chairmanship

Since its establishment, the Shanghai Cooperation Organization (SCO) has become a full-fledged regional organization, having established practical cooperation in the fight against terrorism, extremism, separatism, drug trafficking and others. One of the important tools of the organization is the successful work in the city of Tashkent of the Executive Committee of the Regional Anti-Terrorist Structure (RATS) of the SCO.

At the same time, the activities of the SCO are not limited to the organization of work in the sphere of security, its range is wider. The main founding documents of the organization, such as the Shanghai Declaration and the Charter, define it as a structure aimed at strengthening cooperation in the political, economic, cultural, humanitarian and other fields. This shows that the founding states of the SCO saw it as a new type of regional organization with a new type of universal agenda.

This universality of the SCO is emphasized by the deep essence of the Shanghai Spirit concept, which includes such principles as mutual trust, mutual benefit, equality, mutual consultations, respect for cultural diversity, striving for common development. Consequently, despite the size of the political, military and economic power of the member states of the Organization, they are all equal. The implementation of this principle is the adoption of all decisions within the framework of the SCO based on the consensus. This allows all members of the Organization to actively participate in determining the priorities of its activities. The economic agenda is also being actively promoted within the framework of the SCO.

The key event in the life of the Organization in recent years has undoubtedly been its expansion in 2017 at the expense of two large Asian countries – India and Pakistan. Now the SCO has become one of the major trans-regional organizations, the states of which collectively wield considerable power. For example, China, Russia, India and Pakistan have the status of nuclear power, while Russia and China are permanent members of the UN Security Council. Almost half of the world’s population lives in SCO countries, and the common space occupies 60% of the territory of Eurasia. The total GDP of the SCO states is about 23% of the world GDP.

The fundamental changes taking place in the world, with difficult to predict, unpredictable consequences against the backdrop of a lack of trust and mutual understanding at the global level, pose new challenges and tasks for the SCO. Uzbekistan, as one of the founders of the SCO, is interested in the full disclosure of its potential by increasing practical interaction in those promising areas that meet the vital interests of all countries. Therefore, the development of relations with the Shanghai Cooperation Organization remains an important area of ​​Uzbekistan’s foreign policy.

For Uzbekistan, the SCO is an important multilateral platform, primarily in ensuring stability and broad cooperation in Central Asia, which continues to be the geographical axis of the SCO. A pronounced “regional emphasis” can also be seen in the importance of strengthening the SCO’s attention to the Afghan problem in the context of the more active involvement of Afghanistan in the regional process.

Uzbekistan continues to successfully chair the SCO. Disruption of traditional cooperation and logistics chains, aggravation of the situation in food and energy security, the rapid growth of inflation rates, the deterioration of the socio-economic situation in most countries of the world increase the demand for effective coordination and close multilateral cooperation to adequately respond to modern challenges to security and sustainable development.

It is no coincidence that various countries are showing an increased interest in the SCO and in establishing practical interaction with the Organization. Today, applications from more than ten countries for participation in its work in one status or another are under consideration. All this shows that the SCO is one of the most powerful organizations in terms of its political, economic, scientific and intellectual potential.

During Uzbekistan’s chairmanship in the SCO, more than 70 major events were successfully held, the coordination of 28 documents was completed, the adoption of which is envisaged following the Samarkand Summit. Among them are concepts and programs to stimulate intra-regional trade, industrial cooperation and transport connectivity. Joint projects and events in the green economy, innovations, digital technologies, logistics, agriculture, medicine and other areas are also under development.

To date, all the leaders of the SCO member states have confirmed their participation in the work of the SCO summit, which will be held on September 15 and 16 in Samarkand. The meeting will also be attended by leaders of the SCO observer countries, heads of partner organizations – the UN, the CIS, the CSTO, the EAEU and others. It is expected that Iran will become a member of the SCO at the summit in Samarkand and a Memorandum of Commitment of Iran as a member of the SCO will be signed. Belarus has also applied for membership in the SCO, and during the September summit, the procedure for its admission to the organization will be launched.

The upcoming SCO summit in Samarkand will make it possible to discuss such areas for further development as maintaining the non-bloc status of the organization, strengthening the potential to counter new challenges and threats, maintaining the status of the geographical axis of the SCO for Central Asia, promoting cross-border connectivity projects and more actively involving Afghanistan in regional economic processes. All of this shows Uzbekistan’s commitment to further strengthening friendship and good neighborliness, full-scale cooperation in the SCO space in the interests of countries and peoples.

Seitov A.P.,

Head of Sector at the Executive Committee

of the Political Council of UzLiDeP

  • Views
    174
  • Print
  • Share
← Back to position of the party list

+

Рост влияния ШОС в ходе председательства Узбекистана

15.08.2022, 11:00

Рост влияния ШОС в ходе председательства Узбекистана

С момента своего создания Шанхайская организация сотрудничества (ШОС) стала полноценной региональной организацией, наладив практическое сотрудничество в сфере борьбы с терроризмом, экстремизмом, сепаратизмом, незаконным оборотом наркотиков и другими. Одним из важных инструментов организации является успешная работа в городе Ташкенте Исполнительного комитета Региональной антитеррористической структуры (РАТС) ШОС.

При этом, деятельность ШОС не ограничивается исключительно организацией работы в сфере безопасности, ее спектр носит более широкий характер. Основные учредительные документы организации, такие как Шанхайская декларация и Хартия, определяют ее как структуру, направленную на укрепление сотрудничества в политической, экономической, культурной, гуманитарной и других сферах. Это показывает, что государства-учредители ШОС видели в ней региональную организацию нового типа, имеющую универсальную повестку дня нового типа.

Эта универсальность ШОС подчеркивается глубинной сутью концепции «шанхайского духа», включающей такие принципы, как взаимное доверие, взаимная выгода, равенство, взаимные консультации, уважение культурного разнообразия, стремление к общему развитию. Следовательно, несмотря на размеры политической, военной и экономической мощи государств - участников Организации, все они равноправны. Воплощению в жизнь этого принципа служит принятие всех решений в рамках ШОС на основе консенсуса. Это позволяет всем участникам Организации активно участвовать в определении приоритетов ее деятельности. В рамках ШОС активно продвигается и экономическая повестка.

Ключевым событием в жизни Организации за последние годы, несомненно, стало ее расширение в 2017 году за счет двух крупных азиатских стран - Индии и Пакистана. Теперь ШОС превратилась в одну из крупных трансрегиональных организаций, государства которой в совокупности располагают значительной мощью. Например, КНР, РФ, Индия и Пакистан имеют статус ядерной державы, а Россия и Китай - постоянные члены Совета Безопасности ООН. В странах ШОС проживает почти половина населения мира, а общее пространство занимает 60% территории Евразии. Совокупный объем ВВП государств ШОС составляет около 23% мирового ВВП.

На сегодня, происходящие в мире фундаментальные изменения, с трудно прогнозируемыми, непредсказуемыми последствиями на фоне дефицита доверия и взаимного понимания на глобальном уровне, ставят перед ШОС новые вызовы и задачи. Узбекистан как один из учредителей ШОС заинтересован в полноценном раскрытии ее потенциала за счет наращивания практического взаимодействия в тех перспективных направлениях, которые отвечают насущным интересам всех стран. Поэтому развитие отношений с Шанхайской организацией сотрудничества остается важным направлением внешней политики Узбекистана.

Для Узбекистана ШОС важная многосторонняя площадка, прежде всего в обеспечении стабильности и широкого сотрудничества в Центральной Азии, которая по-прежнему продолжает быть географической осью ШОС. Ярко выраженный «региональный акцент» можно увидеть также в важности усиления внимания ШОС к афганской проблематике в контексте более активного вовлечения ИРА в региональные процессы.

В настоящее время Узбекистан продолжает успешно председательствовать в ШОС. Нарушение традиционных кооперационных и логистических цепочек, усугубление ситуации в сфере продовольственной и энергетической безопасности, стремительный рост показателей инфляции, ухудшение социально-экономической ситуации в большинстве стран мира усиливают востребованность эффективной координации и тесного многостороннего сотрудничества для адекватного реагирования на современные вызовы безопасности и устойчивого развития.

Неслучайным является повышение со стороны различных стран интереса к ШОС и налаживанию практического взаимодействия с Организацией. Сегодня на рассмотрении находятся заявки свыше десяти стран на участие в ее работе в том или ином статусе. Все это показывает, что ШОС является одним из наиболее мощных объединений по своему политическому, экономическому и научно-интеллектуальному потенциалу.

За время председательства Узбекистана в ШОС, успешно проведены свыше 70 крупных мероприятий, завершено согласование 28 документов, принятие которых предусматривается по итогам Самаркандского саммита. Среди них - концепции и программы по стимулированию внутрирегиональной торговли, промышленной кооперации и транспортной взаимосвязанности. На проработке также совместные проекты и мероприятия в сферах «зеленой» экономики, инноваций, цифровых технологий, логистики, сельского хозяйства, медицины и других областях.

На сегодняшний день все лидеры государств - членов ШОС подтвердили свое участие в работе саммита ШОС, который пройдет 15 и 16 сентября в Самарканде. На встрече будут и лидеры стран-наблюдателей при ШОС, руководители партнерских организаций - ООН, СНГ, ОДКБ, ЕАЭС и других. Ожидается, что Иран станет членом ШОС на саммите в Самарканде и будет подписан меморандум об обязательствах Ирана как члена ШОС. Белоруссия также подала заявку на вступление в ШОС, и во время сентябрьского саммита будет начата процедура ее принятия в состав организации.

В целом, предстоящий саммит ШОС в Самарканде позволит обсудить такие направления дальнейшего развития как поддержание внеблокового статуса организации, усиление потенциала по противодействию новым вызовам и угрозам, сохранении за Центральной Азией статуса географического ядра ШОС, продвижении трансграничных проектов взаимосвязанности и более активном вовлечении Афганистана в региональные экономические процессы. Все это показывает приверженность Узбекистана дальнейшему укреплению отношений дружбы и добрососедства, полномасштабного сотрудничества на пространстве ШОС в интересах стран и народов.

Сеитов А.П.,

заведующий сектором ИКПС УзЛиДеП, д.с.н.

  • Просмотров
    266
  • Распечатать
  • Поделиться
← Вернуться к спискам

Оставьте свой комментарий

Введите ответ примера на картинке

+